Random Wednesday: Five Favorite Websites

I’m going to come clean and admit I think this is a really weird topic. Five favorite websites? Alright Stalker McStalkerson, pull up a chair. I forewarn, you won’t be getting much out of this post.

1) Google.com

Image result for google

I google constantly. Whenever anyone asks me a question, if I don’t know the answer, I can’t let it go. I have to look it up. Like what is Chris Evan’s Bacon number?
Chris Evans’s Bacon number is 2*
Chris Evans and Matthew Skomo appeared in Captain America: The Winter Soldier.
Matthew Skomo and Kevin Bacon appeared in X-Men: First Class.

*If you don’t know what a Bacon number is, I recommend you google.

2) Wikipedia.com

I like to kill time on wikipedia often and for the occasional giggle, I also enjoy tl;dr (too long; didn’t read) wikipedia posts. I understand wikipedia is regulated by the people who visit the site meaning, take what you read with a little grain of salt. The occasional trolls are funny and usually caught in a timely manner but if you just want the gist of a topic, wikipedia will give you what you need as well as sources if you would like to read more.

3) Imgur.com

I’m not part of the imgur community and would be considered a “lurker” for the most part. I like to visit the website, usually on my phone, and swipe through pictures as I’m waiting for something. Whether it be sitting in a doctors office or waiting for the timer between cookie batches, imgur is a great time killer. A little too good of a time killer.

4) NPR.org

The news often gets depressing and what’s great about NPR is the variety of it’s news. Book news, music news, and even quiz shows. All of which are entertaining to listen to and give me a little break from the day that doesn’t involve the, “if it bleeds, it leads” journalism or resulting to the radio which, if I hear Bruno Mars Uptown Funk one more time…

5) JennyTrout.com

When she isn’t spamming the crap out of my twitter feed, I visit her website because I’m obsessed with her Jealous Haters Book Club and her posts on Apolonia (-ahem- Jenny left off at chapter 8 and needs to update her links. hint hint). As weird as this sounds, her tearing this book a new one is the type of motivation I use to write. It helps reinforce the belief that even crappy writers are still writers. If I believe I can do better I need to prove it. Most of the writers I’ve connected with are published authors and seasoned talent. When I read their work I do not quite measure up, I still have a long way to go. And while Jenny is one of those authors, she also writes about the bad ones with examples of what not to do. It might be a little harsh, sure. However, I’ve learned so much even if her notes are along the lines of, if you write a science fiction story – put science fiction in the story. Should be a no-brainer but I’ve recently learned take nothing for granted as far as common sense is concerned.

Those are my five. Visit the lovely ladies to see their picks:

2 thoughts on “Random Wednesday: Five Favorite Websites

  1. That is one of my favorite pictures of Jen, and I really needed that laugh this morning. So thanks for that. Also, I should have put google on my list. I’m on it all the damn time…

    Like

  2. I should have put Google too and Jenny’s site. I’m on both of them frequently. I love Google since I look up all kinds of things. I use the google translate a lot. *g*

    Like

Leave a Reply

