Random Wordless Wednesday: My Past

This blog is mostly dedicated to writing so it seems odd to have a post without words. I’m going to try and mix it up a bit. Here is my writing past, in pictures…kind of.

I enjoyed reading and writing at a very young age. I used to make my own books, color the covers, and “write” stories inside though not always using real words.

However my older sister was praised for her writing and always had her nose in a book. It was clear literature was her thing. I didn’t feel it was worth it to compete and pursued other interests.

I decided to learn technology and ended up developing a technical skill set which I use for my career today.

However, writing was something I always thought about and considered.

Then we moved out of state which resulted in a lot of emails to family and friends we left behind.

I often received comments about how fun my emails were when my husband asked me, “Have you ever considered writing?”

Well, actually yes. Many times.

So I gave writing a try. A few tries actually. I started two novels, my husband bought me writing books, and I tried writing contests.

Things didn’t go well and I decided to set things aside for a while. A couple years actually. I had a tendency to hate everything I wrote after I revisited my work.

But there was still this nagging feeling I gave up too soon. I decided to take a different route.

I started writing again and when I got stuck I didn’t give up this time. I joined a writers group.

Which was an incredible boost of inspiration and moral support. A comment during the first meeting still sticks with me and it was by a little lady named Peg who said, “You are so lucky you have support and are starting early. I didn’t start until I was 40!”

Now I have a novel written.

It’s still a rough draft I am working through but hey…

I did it.

Please check out my new friends. My writer friends. Who have invited me to be part of this blog group and continue to be an inspiration.

Jessica Jarman

Kayleigh Jones

Bronwyn Green

Kris Norris

Gwendolyn Cease

Kellie St. James

Paige Prince

7 thoughts on “Random Wordless Wednesday: My Past

Leave a Reply

