Random Wednesday: How Writing Affects My Life and Visa Versa

This might actually be a post without pictures or gifs. Weird right?

Today’s Random Wednesday is about writing, and life, and well…all the things that come with it. It’s a curious topic I’ll admit because I feel I can answer this in multiple ways.

How Writing Affects My Life – Physically: Writing is exhausting. I rarely find the time and often can’t find the words. There are occasions I’m staring at my flash fiction prompts or other projects and think to myself, “Yup. Got nothing.” But I only have an hour or two at most meaning, nothing or not, I have to make something out of that time. While this is difficult, this is what it takes to develop a skill. It’s hard work. I don’t always want to do it and the idea of just closing my computer and finding something else to do is very tempting. But, I’m not going to accomplish much or learn if I am not dedicated.

How Writing Affects My Life – Mentally: It’s a puzzle. At least this is how I view writing. For some it’s a blank canvas to express feelings and emotions. Those people probably write the kind of poetry that makes my head hurt and the eccentric high school lit teacher with the pixie hair cut and art show bought sweater super gitty. My passion is story telling and this, as I have discovered, is not always an easy task. There are many elements to a story from character development and general story flow. What is the purpose? Why do these characters meet? This guy needs to get from point A to point B, how are you going to make this happen? Oh, and don’t forget to make it sound interesting.

Now, lets flip the page, How My Life Affects My Writing: Listen to people. Shut your big old gob once in a while and listen to what you are being told. Ask questions. Lost of questions. The more you ask, the more people will talk about themselves. This was real advice given to me from my father in regards to how to be a successful salesperson. I believe these words of wisdom hold true even when what you are selling is a story. Everyone has health problems, someone is venting about their marital situation, many single young men are not sure how to ask out the girl, and there is always a woman in the booth behind you who is totally pissed off the waitress gave her sausage links instead of the side of bacon she asked for. A successful story is a story that contains an element of relatable truth. If you can’t pull those feelings of emotion, despair, happiness, or excitement from your own life, listen to others.

To see how the other ladies responded to this Random Wednesday topic please visit the blogs below:

Jessica Jarman

Kris Norris

Bronwyn Green

Paige Prince

Kellie St. James

Gwendolyn Cease

4 thoughts on “Random Wednesday: How Writing Affects My Life and Visa Versa

  1. Look, DeLaRosa…bacon is super important and sausage links will. not. do.

    Also, this? “A successful story is a story that contains an element of relatable truth. If you can’t pull those feelings of emotion, despair, happiness, or excitement from your own life, listen to others.” is straight-up brilliant!

    Like

  2. OK. Bronwyn is so right on this. BACON AND SAUSAGE ARE NOT INTERCHANGEABLE. We all know this. Bacon is food from the gods. Sausage links…yeah, there are no words.
    And I agree. Putting bits of normalcy into a story gives it something folks latch onto.

    Like

  3. 3rd time for bacon!! I love bacon and it is not sausage, no matter what anyone says. And yes, so much on the listening. I’m an inveterate people watcher . . . people stalker?? Whatever, I love to observe and listen in because I always find story ideas in anything and everything.

    Like

Leave a Reply

