Random Wednesday: My Perfect Weekend

This week we are suppose to write about our perfect weekend. I find this challenging. Almost as much as that one blog post I had to write for a flash fiction piece to a Nickleback song.

I did not pick the song.

And yes, that was a painful experience I would like to forget.

The reason I find this challenging is because I don’t really have any idea to what a perfect weekend is. Is it traveling? Visiting family and friends? Feeling accomplished by completing weekend projects? Relaxing and finishing a book? Or perhaps it’s doing nothing at all.

Last weekend we accomplished a lot of projects and in between projects I napped. A lot. Pretty much every time I sat down I fell asleep. It wasn’t my perfect weekend but I can’t complain. I was able to rest and still be productive. That strange balance that is often difficult to achieve. On top of it my husband bought me a Jurassic World shirt. That was pretty awesome too.

Since I don’t have much to discuss then on this topic lets talk about groundhogs.

Yes. Groundhogs.

Everyday on my way to work there is a groundhog that chills at a corner of a moderately busy intersection. It just sits there, watches traffic, and snacks. The first time I saw him I thought, “Oh cool. Look at that cute guy!” But, then he was there the next day, and the next, and the next, and even my husband confirmed he had seen the groundhog too and he is constantly at that same corner just doing his thing each and every morning.

Until one Friday he wasn’t there…

and a fuzzy puff of brown fur was a few feet down on the road.

We assumed the worst. It wasn’t clear if the unfortunate pile of fur was a groundhog or a raccoon but we saw no raccoon markings in our brief glances out of the car window. It had to be him. Our little friend.

FYI if you haven’t seen a groundhog in person, they actually aren’t little at all. Still cute though.

We had a mourning period this weekend while we took the news with a, “Aww, well that sucks.”

Monday morning as I passed by on my way to work I hoped for a miracle and there was no water into wine moment. Little guy was not there.

BUT TUESDAY HE WAS! IT’S ALIVE!

We’ve decided to name him Austin.

That’s all I got. I’m sure the girls below were a little more on topic.

Bronwyn Green

Kellie St. James

Gwendolyn Cease

2 thoughts on “Random Wednesday: My Perfect Weekend

  1. I love that Austin is alive and well and chilling. I’m with Bron I didn’t know of him until your post, but I’m so glad he’s okay.

    Like

Leave a Reply

