Random Wednesday: Goals for 2016

“Not become a douchebag.” – Ke$ha – New Years Rockin Eve 2011

That is the last time I watched New Years Rockin Eve with Dick Clark and Ryan Seacrest though Dick Clark still going strong warms heart like the glowing fake tan he sports every winter.

Well, this is awkward.

I just googled to find an overly tan picture of Dick Clark and found out he is dead.

Um…er…ah…moving on I guess.

Goal #1: Work on my pop culture knowledge (watching New Years Rockin Eve is not required)

Goal #2: Grand Rapids Region Writer’s Group Nano. The writers group I meet with monthly does their own Nano. Nano is short for NaNoWriMo which is short for, National Novel Writing Month, an annual event every November. Our group changes the rules a bit with 25,000 words instead of the standard 50,000 and it’s more of an honor system. I plan on participating this year to kick of my next work in progress.

I’m a working mom and while I don’t want this to be perceived as a scapegoat for why I haven’t started my next novel, it’s more of a logistics issue. There are simply not enough hours in the day. Trust me, I’m tired as fuck right now and I have a very unhealthy coffee habit I’m trying to fight back.

Goal #3: Actually participate in Nano – the big one – in November. I skipped this year and it eats away at my soul. I “won” by completing 50,000 words last year within the month of November. However, this year life just wasn’t going to allow me to devote the time. 2016 I plan to make it right and compete again.

Goal #4: I’m hoping between goal #2 and goal #3 I will have a completed novel ready for beta readers. And why not goal #1 too. I mean, at this point I am planning my novel for the 80’s – 90’s but sure, current pop culture could help me with past references.

Goal #5: Complete all blogging requirements set forth from the powers that be…

Goal #6: Appreciate the optimism of goal #5.

Goal #7: Break goal #5 because let’s be real, I know I’m going to break goal #5.

Click below for the other bloggers. They are go-getters and goal-setters so GRAB A STAR AND BRING IT DOWN!

yes_napoleon_dynamite

Bronwyn Green

Paige Prince

Kris Norris

Kayleigh Jones

Jessica Jarman

Gwendolyn Cease

4 thoughts on “Random Wednesday: Goals for 2016

  1. Don’t feel too bad about Nano…you made a tiny human this year! That more than makes up for it. Also, I think goal #6 is my favorite, here. 😀 But I have faith that you’re going to knock out more writing this year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

