Random Wednesday: Three Writing Strengths and Weaknesses

Jesus, Mary, Joseph, and dude who brought the myrrh, I can’t write worth shit.

First, do not ask me to spell anything. Ever. And why my Polish ass brain feels it is important to play Dyslexic Boggle before I can type my thought is anyone’s guess.

“I was thinging that maybe today is a bottle day for water polo.” Brain, what the fuck? What are you doing? STAHP!

On the topic of spelling errors, my husband sent me this screen shot from his email.

unnamed

I completely feel you fam. I probably would have made the same mistake. Actually, there is no “probably” I would have definitely screwed up spelling Krypton.

When it comes to my strengths and weaknesses we need to give this one good physiological deep thought. How do you qualify a writing strength and what makes a weakness?

I do not have a degree in writing. I have zero idea if I am following any of the rules. What I do know is I like to be creative and entertain. I can’t tell you when putting a comma after “but,” came out of style and we started to comma’s before “,but” but, I’m pretty sure there was a time in elementary English when I had that down before the world changed the rules. Or I’ve been wrong all this time. Many possibilities if you know me.

In fact, having no credentials does bother me some what. Deep down, in the belly of “how they hell do I publish this book?” One of the things I like to do when I read something I like is look up the author and see what kind of credentials they have.

Sara Gruen – Degree in English Literature
Kate Morton – Degree in English Literature and Major in Victorian Literature

And those are just the last two authors I have read because I went on a hard core Kate Morton binge thanks to my pusher co-worker who knows my book preference. In line after Camp Nano next month is author John Le Carre.

He also studied English at Oxford.

Okay, there maybe a running theme here. I’m not qualified for this to be a career for sure but, (comma location?) can you really be unqualified for a writing hobby?

Is my spelling issue and Polish Dyslexic Boggle going to keep me from feeding myself or having a warm bed at night? No. Do I actually expect to make money writing in general? A little bit would be nice but overall, no.

This is why it is difficult to really define what are my strengths and weaknesses. It’s because I don’t know what they are. I know they exist. I know that if I ever really, truly, want to be like the authors I enjoy reading, I need to put in some serious effort to be on their playing field. I would need to dig deep into my work and analyze it not just for the story but for the structure, grammar, and yeah, spelling errors spell check missed.

What I enjoy is the creativity and the freedom to write what I feel like writing on a given day. Just, get the thoughts on paper. Those imperfect, little jumbled up words that are used incorrectly for the context you are writing.

Don’t be afraid to write. Strengths, weaknesses, level of street cred, or whatever.

Just write. Share with friends. Have a good laugh, a broken heart, or a massive lady boner if you’re in to that sort of story.

One thing before I sign out. If you could do me a favor and let me know when I have an error on my blog posts? I would really appreciate it. I promise, I won’t be mad and we can still be friends if you alert me I spelled “tittie” in one place and “titty” again in another. Mistakes like that are so embarrassing.

Here are the ladies:

Bronwyn Green

Kris Norris

Gwendolyn Cease

Jessica Jarman

8 thoughts on “Random Wednesday: Three Writing Strengths and Weaknesses

  1. First off, “Jesus, Mary, Joseph, and dude who brought the myrrh” is now my new favorite Catholic swear.

    Secondly, I don’t think having a degree in writing means that someone is automatically a better storyteller than someone who has a degree in something else or who has no degree at all. Comma placement can be learned. It might mean they have more tools in their toolboxes, but I’ve seen some technically “perfect” writing that bored me to tears. Or that made me sweary because while the writing was spot on, the story blew because of shitty characters or it was just lifeless.

    I think you have a really engaging voice and a unique way of framing things that always make your stories interesting and fun to read. I’ve never once been bored by anything you’ve written. And TBH, I bore easily. So, you’ve got some badass strengths, and I’m glad you’re sharing them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m with Bron on this one… never, ever been bored by reading what you’ve written. And who needs a degree in English to write well? The true art is in the imagination. The ideas and engaging readers. The ‘technicalities’ can be learned and as long as it’s not so grammatically wrong your editor puts a hit out on you, you’re good. I say keep it up!

    Like

  3. Ditto what everyone else said. A degree in writing/english/whatever isn’t necessary. If it was I’d be doomed and forced to go back to school. NOOOOOO!!!! I will say I have 3 degrees and none of them have anything to do with writing . . unless you count communication. Yeah, me neither. I think have an imagination and crafting an awesome story is the biggest deal. You can learn everything else. There are tons of books out there for grammar, punctuation and all that. But you either have a good imagination or you don’t. I think you have an awesome one and I love the way you put words together.

    Like

  4. Degree! Frankly those are almost worth the paper they are written on. My degree, if I had finished it, was in fashion design. I dropped it when I discovered I really did not have the ability to create from nothing. I can interpret, I can translate, I sometimes know where to put the comma, but . . . to come up with an original thought – or design – not so much. Not to mention, I cannot draw to save my life.

    When I took the English courses in college, I couldn’t find a two professors who could agree on whether I could write or not. My entrance exams put me in remedial writing. That prof moved me on because I was too good for his class. The next guy didn’t think I could write either. Talk about messing with one’s head. It only reinforced my feeling of no creativity. So with that thought, who needs a degree? It is only a piece of paper. They really don’t know what they are talking about either.

    Now as to where to put the comma and other grammatical issues, I THOUGHT I knew that rather well after grammar school. (Spelling? I learned early to use a dictionary.) But then as you noted, someone changed the rules. I have lamented more than once on not receiving that memo. Every rule of grammar that I learned in grade school seems to have been thrown (or is that throwed *shutter*) out the window. So I can feel your pain. And I do not profess to be a writer, just a reader. I have noticed these issues and find them befuddling.

    Your strengths – being able to come up with the original thought, then translating that into wonderful stories that I, the reader, want to read. That is a talent I envy.
    – amazing friends to encourage and prod you. The group of friends on the above list are totally awesome!
    – readers and fans (like me I hope) who love you and your writing. What more can you ask for?
    Continue what you are doing. It is good!

    Thank you for letting me put in my two cents.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I never met you but I love you so hard. Just so you know. Since I first started seeing your name pop up to now. You are a wonderful person and I can’t thank you enough for your words of wisdom and being a devoted reader. You rock my world.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

