Random Wednesday: What I wanted to be when I grew up.

I WANT TO BE AN AIRBORNE RANGER!

John_bender

Have that in your head the rest of the day? You’re welcome.

This Random Wednesday is about what I wanted to be when I grew up. Well, I took a test in high school to help me with college placement which suggested I should be a farmer. I can’t keep a house plant alive but this is what happens when you say “yes” to enjoying the out doors and “yes” to having an interest in mechanics.

There was also a time I did a report on being an oceanographer when what I really wanted to tell the teacher I was thinking of marine biologist. I cared so little about the mix up I did a report on oceanography.

“My report is about the topography of the ocean floor. There are mountains down there. It’s also very deep. Any questions?”

I had no clue what I wanted to be when I grew up. Make a decision, move a few steps forward, make another decision, rinse and repeat. That was my very boring field of dreams.

What electives do you want to take in high school?
Do you want to continue with those electives?
Do you want to go to college?
What degrees are related to the electives you have chosen to pursue?
What degree do you want to obtain?
What college offers you the most ROI for attending to earn said degree?
What classes associated to your degree do you like the most?
What skill set do you want to promote to employers to jump start your career?
What recruiter to you want to punch square in the balls for lying to you about the average income and starting salary for your degree?

That last question is very important. Because I’ve seen it often. This time last year I was representing the company I work for at a career fair. We took a tour and the professor leading the group discussed how much graduates make.

Dickless wonder was lying a lot. It’s a harsh reality for students and graduates when they plan to pay off student loans and find out their degree doesn’t make them the unique little butterfly with a decent income they thought it would. One of the biggest tricks colleges do is, “With this degree you can start out making $150,000 a year.” This guy actually said this on the tour. I cringed and wanted to tell the guy, “What are the names of the companies that are hiring for that income because I need to brush up my resume.”

In reality we were the companies he was referring to, encouraging us to be more competitive with our entry level salaries. I recall looking around at the faded khaki pants and the slightly warped collars of cheap company logo embroidered polos and thought, “No one thought they were going to be here when they graduated college and I’m sure no one here makes six figures to hire an entry level graduate at six figures.”

Don’t let reality bite you in the ass and crush your dreams, always plan to start out on the bottom and follow the same path you have been.

What entry level position am I qualified for?
What direction can that position take me?
How do raises and promotions work for the company I am at?
What can I do outside of work to show I am a motivated person?
What extracurricular activities are available in my career to make me better at my job?

Work to pay the bills, work to support a family, work so you can retire and take care of yourself some day. It’s also okay to have fun and enjoy work.

But remember to have hobbies to keep yourself sane, to make you happy, and if you are one of the lucky ones who is really good at what you like to do, you might be able to make money at it too.

This is my rant about growing up!

And to the ladies:

Bronwyn Green

Kayleigh Jones

Paige Prince

Gwendolyn Cease

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Random Wednesday: What I wanted to be when I grew up.

  1. There is usually always the unanswered question of “what do you want to be when you grow up” no matter where one is in life or how old they are.” Only a lucky few KNOW what they want to be and attain it at an early age. The rest of us flounder and trip along while we search for a passion that might sustain us. Personally, I am still trying to decide what I want to be when I grow up. I will let you know if I ever get there, though at my age I suspect I won’t. But that is okay. It is all about the journey.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If rules didn’t apply and money was no issue I would take Broadway by storm! … after I learned how to sing and dance.

      I suppose I lied and I do know what I want to be when I grow up.

      Fiona in Shrek the Musical!

      If only it were actually that easy…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Two days I had that stuck in my. Two effing days. Also, I want to throat punch all “career counselors” and drop them off in the deepest part of the ocean (which I can find thanks to your report) because they are useless and lead too many kids astray.

    Like

  3. You are so awesome!!! I love this article so much. If I were still teaching I’d print it out and take it into my class for a reality life lesson. Now, let me tell you, that when I was in high school the counselor gave me the choice of being a teacher or a nun. Yep, that’s right. Nun . . . for someone who wasn’t really catholic . . . and was in fact pagan. The whole goal was to either serve the church or marry and have tons more catholics. LOL I’m sure you can see that neither of those plans worked

    Like

Leave a Reply

