Random Wednesday: Nostalgic Movies

Nostalgic movies aways sound good in theory until you watch them again years later and realize, it’s best not to revisit your heroes. Here are my top 5″And I used to like this movie because…why?” Movies

Movie #1: The Last Unicorn

tree-love

Boob Tree and Jeff Bridges. This movie has a lot of weirdness but as a kid I loved this movie. For one, there is a unicorn. But a prince, a magician, a cat who has more personality than I do, and we can’t forget the drunk skeleton. Though my husband did until I yelled out “UUUNNN -IIIIIII- CCCOOORRRNNN!” To which he responded “OH YEAH! That part.” I’m not going to try to explain this movie. It’s best left at just knowing there is a boob tree without actually having to watch that scene. But the deal breaker when watching is as an adult is Jeff Bridges voices Prince Lir. As an adult I associate Jeff Bridges with The Dude.

af7e4efe20feaf50b2ff6431e6a9ab06
This guy, not as cool as The Dude.

I have issues. I realize this. I just can’t get over the voice acting. Also he sings and it’s just really uncomfortable.

5efe4099318411f90a7b2b3feba045c2
Sorry Mr. Bridges.

Movie #2: Little Shop of Horrors

horrorshed

This movie is beyond ridiculous. Plant from outerspace is matched with a guy who is down on his luck. Together they change the world and eat a few people. The plant does, not the guy. Feel I should clarify that. I repeat  – the main character Seymour does not eat people. I want to also note that this movie is a musical and with enough alcohol…let’s just say I no longer drink and watch Little Shop of Horrors for reasons my husband won’t let me forget. Really that is the only reason this movie is on the list. I am embarrassed at how I can’t watch this movie without singing along. (Husband edit: I see no problem with this.)

Movie #3: Mac and Me

mac1

I don’t even fucking know. We’re just going to keep moving.

Movie #4: Super Mario Bros.

tumblr_nhv8evh5wn1rp0vkjo1_500

Do you have any idea how many hours I have invested in this video game?
Do you have any idea how excited I was for a movie version?
Do you have any idea what this thing is?
I DON’T EITHER! It sure is hell not from the video game. Google says it’s a goomba but I refuse to believe this because this is a goomba from the actual game…

level-1-1_edited

I hate the person who green light this. I’m still okay with you, John Leguizamo. You’re still cool.

Movie #5: Teen Witch

3274046850_4c3d9d9cc7

Besides the fact that the guys face in this screen shot is priceless, Teen Witch was by all accounts a fun movie to watch when I was younger. Everyone had their John Hughes movies and while they are classics, nothing is as good as Teen Witch when it comes to coming of age movies. Then it was on Netflix not to long ago. I watched it and hid my face in shame. I use to love this movie but there is a particular rap song you just really need to see for yourself.

That’s all I’ve got for this post. And below are the other girls who I dare to top that.

Bronwyn Green

Paige Prince

Jessica Jarman (Who visited recently. It was nice seeing you!)

Gwendolyn Cease

Kris Norris

8 thoughts on “Random Wednesday: Nostalgic Movies

  1. I had the same experience with Teen Witch not too long ago. I loved it when I was younger and I stumbled across it on Netflix recently. I think I spent the entire movie with my face in a pillow because I was so embarrassed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve seen the rap relatively recently – I don’t remember if it was because you, Kayleigh or Jenny sent it to me, but I died – but I’ve never seen the movie. I should probably fix that. So I can be amused. Also, WTF is Mac and Me??? I don’t even recall seeing a preview or ad for that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

